Governing Council


Governance is the vital activity that acts a bond between the management and stakeholders. The institution has strong governing council composed of various personalities who walks through various lifestyles that plans all policies and decisions related to both Academic and Administration. To ensure the effectiveness, Governing council of KGISL Institute of Technology meets every academic year before the commencement of semester to deliberate various aspects and issues contributing to the development of the Institution. The suggestions from Planning and Monitoring are resolved during the meeting.

Responsibility of Governing Council:

  • Uphold the legal importance of the college in line with the policies of AICTE,UGC, State Government and Affiliating University( Anna University) or any other Legal body or Agency
  • Taking decisions regarding the intake/additional intake or discontinuing of any program if necessary
  • Fixing up the fee structure and any charges applicable as instructed by the Affiliating University
  • Approving the budget for the respective financial year

Functions of Governing Council:

  • Revise and approve policies from time to time
  • Approve the appointment of faculty members recommended by the selection committee
  • Construction and maintenance of infra-structure and amenities of the institution
  • Introduction of new programs/ increase intake/ closure of program/reduction of intake
  • Review of academic performance of the institution and suggestion for remedial measures(if any)
  • Release funds and exploit the maximum resources towards improvement of the institution
  • Implement the recommendations and suggestions of the Planning and Monitoring board


Composition of Governing Council Members:

S.No. Name Position Present Position/ Occupation
1 Dr.Ashok Bakthavathsalam Chairman Managing Trustee, KGiSL Trust
2 Dr. R.Ravichandran Member Secretary, KGiSL
3 Mr.Parthasarathi A. Member Director Software, KGISL GSS
4 Dr.Suresh Kumar S. Member Vice-Principal
5 Dr.S.N.Deepa Member University Nominee, AU
6 Dr.Suresh Kumar C. Member Executive Vice-President

R & D Director

7 Dr. M.Ramachandran Member General Manager, Velan Valves India Pvt. Ltd.
8 Dr. V.Vijaya Chamundeeswari Member Secretary Principal